Why I’m Returning to Ireland

In May of 2014, my husband Steve and I spent 2 glorious weeks in Ireland.  We rented a car, and Steve patiently drove me to all of the “of the beaten track” locations that I had on my list.  Many of these locations we had completely to ourselves, which made for both amazing photos and memories.  As I boarded the plane to go home, I knew that I wanted to return to Ireland again, this time to immerse myself into a community and to really get to know the people living there.

I got serious about returning in January of 2016.  As both a way to make a longer stay affordable and as a way of participating in something meaningful as an animal lover, I signed on to be a volunteer for a few weeks at a seal rescue north of Wexford in the seaside village of Courtown.

My stepfather will join me for the first week to explore together before I am due at the rescue, and I hope one day to take my 3 grown children.  Just as my favorite places in the US, Ireland is a place that I want to share with the people I love.

I’ve decided to fill this opening post with favorite photos from our 2014 visit.  I hope you enjoy them and that you will pop by during the next 5 weeks to see new photos and read about my explorations. There is a brief description below each photo. Thank you for sharing my adventure.    Eva

athassel_(1_of_1)

Athassel Friary, near Cashel, the largest monastic ruin site in Ireland.

cliffs_(1_of_1)

The cliffs at Kilkee on the western coast.

athas_(1_of_1)-2

A view from Hore Abbey up the hill to the Rock of Cashel.

clonmacnoise_(1_of_1)-2

Clonmacnoise monastic ruins on the banks of the Shannon River.

com-2

Steve in a secret location given to us by our B and B host along the Cliffs of Moher.

historiccal_(1_of_1)-3

The interior of Kilmainham Gaol in Dublin.

historiccal_(1_of_1)

Ross Friary near Galway.

whv_(1_of_1)-12

Dublin wharf.

whv_(1_of_1)-13

Newgrange stone age passage tomb.

whv_(1_of_1)-19

Ross Castle near Killarney.

Leave a Reply

